1977 James Griffin – James Griffin

James Arthur Griffin (August 10, 1943 – January 11, 2005) was a singer, guitarist, and songwriter, best known for his work with the 1970s rock band Bread. He won an Academy Award for Best Song in 1970 as co-writer of “For All We Know”.
In 1977, Griffin released a third solo album, James Griffin, also on Polydor, with tracks recorded in 1974 and 1975. He teamed with Terry Sylvester (formerly of The Hollies) on the album Griffin & Sylvester in 1982 and was a member of Black Tie with Randy Meisner and Billy Swan, which released When The Night Falls in 1986, co-produced by T-Bone Burnett. Robb Royer was also credited as a musician on the album. The album was remixed and reissued in the early ’90’s, with Griffin’s voice more prominent on some songs. The Black Tie single “Learning The Game” peaked at #59 on the Billboard country chart in 1991.


1 Laura Lee (David Paich) 3:34
2 Hanalei (James Griffin, Robb Royer) 4:05
3 Goin’ Back To Tennessee (James Griffin) 3:50
4 Blood From A Stone (James Griffin, Robb Royer) 4:25
5 How Do You Say Goodbye (James Griffin) 2:39
6 Treat Her Right (David Paich) 3:13
7 That’s All I Need (Robb Royer) 3:50
8 My Love Is Mine (James Griffin) 3:08
9 I Repent (James Griffin) 4:53



BassDave Budameyer
BassDavid Gates
BassLarry Knechtel
BassJosef Lamanno
DrumsMike Botts
DrumsJim Gordon
GuitarJames Griffin
GuitarDean Parks
GuitarBarry Burton
KeyboardsDavid Paich
TromboneJack Hale
HornJim Horn
HornWayne Jackson
SaxEd Logan
SaxJames Mitchell

Liner Notes

Producer, Arranged By – David Paich, Marty Paich (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 6)
Producer, Arranged By – James Griffin (Track 5)
Producer, Arranged By – James Griffin Larry Knechtel, Robb Royer (Track 4)
Executive Producer – James Griffin