1982 Toto – IV

 Toto IV is the fourth studio album by American rock band Toto released on April 8, 1982 by Columbia Records. The album marks the band’s career breakthrough.

The lead single, “Rosanna”, peaked at number 2 for five weeks on the Billboard Hot 100 charts, while the album’s third single, “Africa”, topping the Hot 100 charts as well, became the group’s first number 1 hit. Both songs were smash hits in the UK as well, reaching number 12 and 3 respectively. The fourth single, “I Won’t Hold You Back”, also peaked within the top ten on the Hot 100, at number 10, but atop the Billboard Adult Contemporary charts for three weeks. It also went within the top 40 in the UK. With the success of “Africa”, the album climbed back into the top 10 in early 1983 on both sides of the Atlantic.

Toto IV received six Grammy Awards in 1983 including Album of the Year, Producer of the Year for the band, and Record of the Year for “Rosanna”. It reached number four on the Billboard 200 album charts in the United States alone, shortly after its release. It also reached within top ten in some other countries, including in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Italy, Norway, United Kingdom, and Japan.


Rosanna (David Paich) 5:33
Make Believe (David Paich) 3:47
I Won’t Hold You Back (Steve Lukather) 4:56
4  Good For You (Bobby Kimball, Steve Lukather) 3:18
5  It’s A Feeling (Steve Porcaro) 3:09
6  Afraid Of Love (Steve Lukather, David Paich, Jeffrey Porcaro) 3:53
7  Lovers In The Night (David Paich) 4:26
8  We Made It (David Paich, Jeffrey Porcaro) 3:58
Waiting For Your Love (Bobby Kimball, David Paich) 4:13
10  Africa (David Paich, Jeffrey Porcaro) 5:00


The Band

Bass David Hungate
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar Steve Lukather
Keyboards David Paich
Keyboards Steve Porcaro
Vocals Bobby Kimball
Vocals Steve Lukather
Vocals David Paich
Vocals Steve Porcaro

Other Musicians

Synthesizer Ralph Dyck
Synthesizer (Programming) Roger Linn
Cello Mike Porcaro
Percussion Lenny Castro
Percussion Joe Porcaro
Xylophone Joe Porcaro
Background Vocals Tom Kelly
Background Vocals Timothy B Schmit
Sax Jim Horn
Sax Tom Scott

Liner Notes

Producer – Toto
Arranged By (Horns) – David Paich, Jerry Hey (Track 1)
Arranged By (Orchestral) – David Paich, James Newton Howard (Tracks 3, 5, 6, 7)
Arranged By (Orchestral) – Marty Paich (Track 3)
Conductor – James Newton Howard (Tracks 3, 5, 6, 7)
Engineer – Al Schmitt, Greg Ladanyi, Tom Knox
Engineer (Additional Engineering At Hogg Manor) – Bruce Heigh, David Paich, Dick Gall, Steve Porcaro
Mastered By – George Marino
Mixed By – Greg Ladanyi
Recorded By – Al Schmitt (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 10)
Recorded By – Tom Knox (Tracks 2, 9)
Recorded By – Greg Ladanyi (Tracks 6, 8)
Recorded By (Strings) – John Kurlander (Tracks 3, 5, 6, 7)

Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Recorded At – Sunset Sound
Recorded At – Record One, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Abbey Road Studios
Recorded At – Hogg Manor
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Mastered At – Customatrix
Lacquer Cut At – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Carrollton, GA
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Pitman
Manufactured By – Columbia Records
Record Company – CBS Inc.

Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Manufactured By – Columbia Records
Manufactured By – CBS Inc.
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Terre Haute
Mastered At – Sterling Sound
Recorded At – Abbey Road Studios
Recorded At – Hogg Manor
Recorded By (At Record One) – Jamie Ledner, Lon LeMaster, Niko Bolas
Recorded By (At Sunset Sound) – David Leonard, Peggy McCreary, Terry Christian