1982 Stevie Woods – Take Me To Your Heaven

Joseph Stephen “Stevie” Woods, Jr. (July 2, 1951 – January 28, 2014) was an American R&B musician and recording artist.

Born in Chatham, Virginia to Rusty Bryant, Woods saw brief stateside success as a singer in the early 1980s, scoring two Top 40 hits in the United States: “Steal the Night” and “Just Can’t Win ‘Em All.” In the 1970s and 1980s Stevie was married to Hollywood actress/entrepreneur Cheri (Lewis) Woods. In 1985 they had a daughter, Tiana Woods, now an L.A. based singer/songwriter and front woman for the band “Varna.” Cheri later chronicled their life together in her book “Death Row Madam: Exposing sex and drugs in the entertainment industry.” After his brief U.S. fame fizzled, Woods relocated to Germany, where he successfully relaunched his career with such projects as the single “Rock Me Baby” and a starring role in the hit musical Starlight Express. In 2010, all three of Woods’ early-1980s albums were reissued on CD by Wounded Bird Records. The following year, the singer released an album entitled Quiet Storm.

According to Cheri Woods’ 2001 memoir Death Row Madam, Stevie Woods was a cousin of American actor Philip Michael Thomas. He was also a former Marine and a graduate of Austin Community College.

Woods died in Berlin, Germany of diabetes-related complications on January 28, 2014.


Fly Away(Carole Bayer Sager, David Foster, Peter Allen) 4:01
Just Can’t Win ‘Em All(Bill Bowersock, Greg Mathieson, Matt Vernon, Trevor Veitch) 4:09
3  Take Me To Your Heaven (Kelly Wilson, Steve Wilson) 4:01
Steal The Night(Bill Bowersock, Matt Vernon, Trevor Veitch) 3:42
5  Through The Years (Marty Panzer, Steve Dorff) 4:25
6  Wanna Be Close To You (Angela Winbush, René Moore) 4:38
7  Road Between The Lines (Bill Bowersock, Greg Mathieson, Matt Vernon, Trevor Veitch) 3:52
8  Throw A Little Bit Of Love My Way (David Foster, Harry Garfield, Jay Graydon) 4:26
9  Gotcha (David Shields, Fritz Baskett, Michael Thompson) 5:00


BassDavid Shields
BassEd Watkins
BassLes Hurdle
BassNathan East
DrumsEd Greene
DrumsJames Gadson
DrumsKeith Forsey
DrumsLeon Chancler
DrumsMike Baird
GuitarCharles Fearing
GuitarPaul Jackson
GuitarRay Parker Jr
GuitarSteve Lukather
GuitarStevie Woods
GuitarTim May
GuitarTrevor Veitch
KeyboardsClarence McDonald
KeyboardsGreg Mathieson
SynthesizerMichael Boddicker
TrumpetChuck Findley
TrumpetGary Grant
TrumpetJerry Hey
TrumpetLarry Hall
TromboneBill Reichenbach
TromboneCharlie Loper
TromboneRandy Alcroft
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsBill Champlin
Background VocalsCarmen Grillo
Background VocalsJames Haas
Background VocalsJon Joyce
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsLuther Waters
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters
Background VocalsOren Waters
Background VocalsMarti McCall
Background VocalsPaulette McWilliams
Background VocalsSally Stevens
Background VocalsStephanie Spruill
Background VocalsTom Kelly

Other Musicians

Cello – Armand Kaproff, Douglas Davis, Paula Hochhalter, Ron Leonard
Harp – Verlye Mills
Harmonica – Les Thompson
Viola – David Schwartz, Denyse Buffum, Gary Combe
Violin – Bonnie Douglas, Donald Palmer, Erno Neufeld, Israel Baker, Jack Shulman, Mari Botnick, Marshall Sosson, Nathan Ross, Paul Shure, Sheldon Sanov, Stanley Plummer

Liner Notes

Producer – Jack White
Arranged By – Gene Page (Tracks A5, 8), Greg Mathieson (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9)
Arranged By (Horns & Strings) – Jerry Hey (Tracks 1)
Arranged By (Horns) – Jerry Hey (Tracks 6)
Concertmaster – Sidney Sharp
Concertmaster – Harry Bluestone (Tracks 4, 8)
Mastered By – Brian Gardner
Mixed By – Jürgen Koppers

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Cotillion Records
Copyright (c) – Cotillion Records
Manufactured By – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Recorded At – Rusk Sound Studios
Mastered At – Allen Zentz Mastering
Pressed By – Specialty Records Corporation