1977 Fools Gold – Mr Lucky

Mr. Lucky is the second album by the band Fools Gold, released in 1977

Fools Gold was a Illinois-based band with soaring harmonies that toured as Dan Fogelberg’s backup band in 1974. Fool’s Gold recorded only two LP’s in their brief career. Pared down to a duo, the main songwriters and singers Tom Kelly and Denny Henson, playing as Fool’s Gold, switched labels and went for the slick L.A. sound that was being offered up in the mid-’70s.


1  Sweet Country Air (Denny Henson, Tom Kelly) 4:14
2  I Can Hear The Whistle Blow (Denny Henson, Tom Kelly) 2:43
3  Wouldn’t I Love To Love You? (Tom Kelly) 4:12
4  Runnin’ And Hiden’ (Denny Henson, Tom Kelly) 3:42
5  Fly Away (Denny Henson, Tom Kelly) 3:44
6  Gypsy Brew (Denny Henson, Tom Kelly) 2:39
7  Mr. Lucky (Denny Henson, Tom Kelly) 4:16
8  Where Did Our Love Go Wrong (Denny Henson) 3:59
9  Captain (Denny Henson, Tom Kelly) 5:45



BassMike Porcaro
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
GuitarWaddy Wachtel
GuitarAndrew Gold
GuitarDenny Henson
GuitarTom Kelly
Steel GuitarDan Fogelberg
Steel GuitarDoug Livingston
KeyboardsDavid Paich
KeyboardsDavid Foster
OrganBill Champlin
PercussionJeffrey Porcaro
PercussionKeith Olson
SaxTom Scott
SaxColin Tully
SaxMel Collins
VocalsDenny Henson
VocalsTom Kelly

Liner Notes

Producer – Keith Olsen
Arranged By – David Foster, Fools Gold
Arranged By (Horns) – Colin Tully, Keith Olsen, Mel Collins
Arranged By (Strings) – David Foster, Keith Olsen
Conductor (Strings) – Martyn Ford
Engineer – David DeVore, Keith Olsen
Mastered By – Rick Collins