1973 Michael Franks – Michael Franks / Previously Unavailable

Michael Franks is a smooth vocal jazz album, and the eponymous debut studio album of American singer-songwriter and musician Michael Franks. Released in 1973 with Brut, the album was re-released in 1983 under the title Previously Unavailable.

Michael Franks (born September 18, 1944 in La Jolla, California) is a jazz singer and songwriter from the United States. He has recorded with a variety of well-known artists, such as Patti Austin, Brenda Russell, Art Garfunkel, and David Sanborn. His songs have been recorded by Lyle Lovett, Kurt Elling, The Manhattan Transfer, Patti Labelle, Carmen McRae, Diana Krall, Shirley Bassey, Ringo Starr and The Carpenters.

During this time Franks started writing songs, starting with the antiwar musical Anthems in E-flat starring Mark Hamill. He also composed music for the films Count Your Bullets, Cockfighter, and Zandy’s Bride, starring Liv Ullmann and Gene Hackman. Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee recorded three of his songs, including “White Boy Lost in the Blues” on their album Sonny & Brownie. Franks played guitar, banjo and mandolin on the album and joined them in touring. In 1973, he recorded an eponymous album, later reissued as Previously Unavailable, which included the minor hit “Can’t Seem to Shake This Rock ‘n Roll”.


1  Can’t Seem To Shake This Rock”n”roll (Michael Franks) 4:19
2  Just Like Key Largo (Michael Franks) 3:35
3  When Blackbirds Fly (Michael Franks) 3:17
4  Lovesick Lizzie (Michael Franks) 3:10
5  Life”s Little Highway (Michael Franks) 4:20
6  King Of Oklahoma (Michael Franks) 3:10
7  Dobro Ladies (Michael Franks) 2:48
8  Three Today (Michael Franks) 4:03
9  Little Sparrow (Michael Franks) 3:03
10  Born With The Moon In Virgo (Michael Franks) 6:13



Bass Carol Kaye
Bass Max Bennet
Drums Larry Bunker
Drums Paul Humphrey
Drums Ed Greene
Guitar Louie Shelton
Guitar Jerry McGhee
Guitar Tommy Tedesco
Acoustic Guitar Michael Franks
Banjo Michael Franks
Mandolin Michael Franks
Keyboards David Paich
Keyboards Mo Rodgers
Sax Tom Scott
Trombone Chauncey Welsch
Trombone Kenneth Shroyer
Trumpet Michael Price
Trumpet Ollie Mitchell
Trumpet Anthony Terran
Woodwinds Gene Cipriano
Violin Bobby Bruce
Background Vocals Wendy Waldman
VocalsMichael Franks

Liner Notes

Producer – Richard Markowitz
Producer (Executive) – Hank O’Neal
Arranged By – Richard Markowitz
Conductor – Richard Markowitz
Recorded By, Mixed By – Bart Chiate

Design (Cover) – John De Vries
Photography – Hank O’Neal
Liner Notes – Nat Hentoff

Manufactured By – Hispavox, S.A.
Distributed By – Hispavox, S.A.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – John Hammond Records
Copyright (c) – John Hammond Records
Printed By – Dirograf, S.A.