1981 Soundtrack – In Harmony

In Harmony: A Sesame Street Record and In Harmony 2 are two Grammy Award-winning compilation albums of children’s music performed by various artists, released in 1980 and 1982, respectively. Of the two albums, only the first album charted, reaching #156 on the Billboard 200. The Doobie Brothers’ cover of “Wynken, Blynken and Nod” was the only single release to chart, when it reached #76 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart. A second single, Al Jarreau’s “One Good Turn”, failed to chart. The first album was released on Warner Bros. Records while the second one was released on Columbia Records.

Only the first album has a direct connection to the popular children’s series Sesame Street, as it includes a song performed by the characters Ernie and Cookie Monster, while no Muppet-related content appears on the second album. However, the second album’s credits state that a “royalty is being donated to the Children’s Television Workshop and various children’s charities” from its proceeds.

Each of the albums was awarded the Grammy Award for Best Recording for Children, at the 23rd Annual Grammy Awards and 25th Annual Grammy Awards, respectively.

Bruce Springsteen’s performance of “Santa Claus Is Comin’ to Town”, which appears on the second album, was recorded live at C. W. Post College in Greenvale, New York on December 12, 1975. Springsteen’s rendition of the song has received radio airplay perennially at Christmastime for years; it has appeared on Billboard magazine’s Hot Singles Recurrents chart each year from 2002 to 2009 due to seasonal airplay. In Harmony 2 marks the first appearance of the recording on an album, although it was later released as the B-side of Springsteen’s single “My Hometown” in 1985 and has since been released on several other compilations.


1  Nobody Knows But Me (Billy Joel) 2:54
2  Sunny Skies (James Taylor) 2:46
3  The Owl And The Pussycat (Edward Lear, Lucy Simon) 3:49
4  Reach Out And Touch (Nickolas Ashford, Valerie Simpson) 4:21
5  Ginny The Flying Girl (Janis Ian) 3:46
6  Here Comes The Rainbow (Lucy Simon, Jacques Levy) 3:40
7  Splish Splash (Bobby Darin, Murray Kaufman) 4:17
8  Some Kitties Don’t Care (Kenny Loggins, Marty Paich) 4:03
9  Maryanne (Lucy Simon, Carly Simon) 3:10
10  Santa Claus Is Coming To Town (J Fred Coots, Haven Gillespie) 4:29



1 Nobody Knows But Me

Bass Doug Stegmeyer
Drums Liberty deVitto
Guitar Steve Khan
Acoustic Guitar Russell Javors
Piano Billy Joel
Harmonica Billy Joel
Vocals Billy Joel

2 Sunny Skies

Bass Ron Carter
Acoustic Guitar Hugh McCracken
Acoustic Guitar James Taylor
Fender Rhodes Rob Mounsey
Percussion Errol Bennett
Background Vocals Sarah Maria
Background Vocals Ben Taylor
Vocals James Taylor

3 The Owl And The Pussycat

Bass Anthony Jackson
Drums Buddy Williams
Guitar Hugh McCracken
Keyboards Mac Rebennack
Percussion Errol Bennett
Flute Charlie Miller
Flute Edward Xiques
Sax Ron Cuber
Sax Edward Xiques
Trumpet Charlie Miller
Trombone Tom Malone
Vocals Lou Rawls
Vocals Deniece Williams

4 Reach Out And Touch

Bass Bob Popwell
Drums JR Robinson
Acoustic Guitar George Doering
Guitar Paul Jackson
Piano Jai Winding
Fender Rhodes Larry Williams
Background Vocals Sarah Gorham
Background Vocals Annie Gwathmey
Background Vocals Jeffrey Lefcourt
Background Vocals James Levine
Background Vocals Julie Levine
Background Vocals Sandy VanderZee
Vocals Teddy Pendergrass

5 Ginny The Flying Girl

Bass John Crowder
Drums Arti Dixson
Acoustic Guitar Fred Tackett
Acoustic Guitar Arti Funaro
Guitar Dan Ferguson
Piano Janis Ian
Fender Rhodes Greg Phillinganes
Percussion Lenny Castro
Background Vocals Janis Ian
Background Vocals John Crowder
Background Vocals Arti Funaro
Vocals Janis Ian

6 Here Comes The Rainbow

Bass Joe Allen
Drums Tony Newman
Guitar Chris Leuzinger
Piano Charles Cochran
Synthesizer Alan Steinberger
Fender Rhodes Alan Steinberger
Percussion Errol Bennett
Background Vocals Crystal Gayle
Background Vocals Lucy Simon
Vocals Crystal Gayle


7 Splish Splash

Bass Neil Jason
Drums Liberty deVitto
Guitar David Brown
Piano Mac Rebennack
Background Vocals David Brown
Background Vocals Robin Danar
Background Vocals Liberty deVitto
Background Vocals Larry Franke
Background Vocals Mac Rebennack
Vocals Mac Rebennack

8 Some Kitties Don’t Care

Bass David Hungate
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Acoustic Guitar Kenny Loggins
Acoustic Guitar Steve Lukather
Fender Rhodes Greg Phillinganes
Piano Marty Paich
Background Vocals James Levine
Background Vocals Julie Levine
Background Vocals Sarah Maria Taylor

9 Maryanne

Bass Ron Carter
Acoustic Guitar Hugh McCracken
Acoustic Guitar Jay Berliner
Fender Rhodes Rob Mounsey
Percussion Errol Bennett
Horn George Marge
Vocals Carly Simon
Vocals Lucy Simon

10 Santa Claus Is Coming To Town

Bass Garry Tallent
Drums Max Weinberg
Guitar Steve Van Zandt
Guitar Bruce Springsteen
Organ Danny Federici
Glockenspiel Danny Federici
Sax Clarence Clemons
Background Vocals Clarence Clemons
Background Vocals Steve Van Zandt
Vocals Bruce Springsteen

Liner Notes

Producer – David Levine, Lucy Simon

Design – Paula Scher
Illustration – Seymour Chwast