1980 Gary Benson – Moonlight Walking

Gary Benson (born Harry Hyams, London) is an English singer-songwriter.
Benson spent eight weeks in the UK Singles Chart in 1975 with his own composition, “Don’t Throw It All Away”. The single, released on the State Records label, reached No. 20 in the chart, leading to an appearance on BBC Television’s Top Of The Pops. The song had originally been recorded by The Shadows, and they had performed it in the 1975 A Song for Europe contest, where it finished fourth of six entries. The song was covered in the United States by The Delfonics in 1978. There are also a number of reggae versions that include a dancehall style cut by Barrington Levy.Benson had further attempts at winning the UK ticket to the Eurovision Song Contest, reaching the UK finals in 1977 with “After All This Time”, performed by Wesley, Park and Smith, finishing fifth of 12; in 1981 with “All Cried Out”, which he performed himself to place fourth of 8, and was later released on the WEA label; and in 1993 with “It’s Just a Matter Of Time” performed by Sonia, finishing last of eight entries. Benson tried again in 1998 with Alan Glass on the song “Give It Up” performed by Lisa Millet which finished 8th of the eight songs in the show.Benson’s song “Let Her In”, oddly credited to both Gary Benson and Harry Hyams, was recorded by John Travolta in 1975.Another of Benson’s compositions, “Close To You”, was recorded by Maxi Priest. In 1977, he composed and sang one of his sweetest melodies, “You”, but it did not reach the UK chart.


1  Dying To Live With You (Gary Benson, Fred Mollin) 3:27
2  Counting The Days Away (Gary Benson) 3:59
3  What’s Gonna Happen To Us (Gary Benson) 3:15
4  What I Was Trying To Say (Gary Benson, Fred Mollin) 3:41
5  Moonlight Walking (Gary Benson) 3:05
6  It’s A Love Thing (Gary Benson) 3:15
7  You Don’t Know What That Does To Me (Gary Benson) 3:12
8  I Think This Could Be It (Gary Benson) 3:12
9  You’re The One (Gary Benson) 3:23
10  Sanctuary (Gary Benson) 3:35



Bass Leland Sklar
Bass Dave Olney
Drums Russ Kunkel
Drums Les Binks
Drums Tom Nichol
Guitar Steve Lukather
Guitar Ray Russell
Guitar Ricky Hitchcock
Acoustic Guitar Kevin Peek
Acoustic Guitar Foggy Little
Keyboards Rob Young
Keyboards Bobby Ogdin
Percussion Frank Ricotti
Background Vocals Vicky Brown
Background Vocals Leah Kunkel

Liner Notes

Producer – Gary Benson, Fred Mollin, Matthew McCauley
Arranged – Rob Young
Arranged – Matthew McCauley
Engineer – Steve Churchyard

Recorded at Air Studios (London)
Sunset Sound Studios (Los Angeles)