1980 Syreeta – Syreeta

Syreeta is the fourth solo album by Motown recording artist and American singer-songwriter Syreeta Wright (also known as “Syreeta”), released by the Tamla label on April 26, 1980. It’s also the second album to be titled Syreeta after her 1972 debut album.

The album was released shortly after Wright’s duet with Billy Preston, “With You I’m Born Again”, gave her the biggest charted success of her career. The album included Wright’s take of her famous compositions, “I Blame It On the Sun”, which she wrote for ex-husband Stevie Wonder’s Talking Book and a funky take on Wonder’s “Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I’m Yours)”, which she also co-wrote. Wright provided lyrics and composition on one other song – “Dance For Me Children”, with Curtis Robertson. Wright also collaborated with Preston on the album with the duets, “Please Stay” and “One More Time for Love”, the latter duet charted modestly successful on the pop and R&B charts upon its release. The album features a smiling Wright in her trademark multi-colored braids.