1980 Aretha Franklin – Aretha

Franklin, Aretha 1980Aretha is the twenty eighth studio album by American singer Aretha Franklin, Released on October 25, 1980 by Arista Records. Franklin’s first Arista single release, “United Together”, reached #3 on the Soul chart and crossed over to #56 on Billboard’s Hot 100. The album itself peaked at #47 and spent 30 weeks on Billboard’s main album chart, eventually selling close to 350,000 copies. It was recently re-issued by SoulMusic Records.This was the second album with this title to be released by the artist, and her first ever for Arista after a 12-year tenure with Atlantic Records. Other Franklin albums titled “Aretha” were also released in 1986 and 1961. The disc’s opening track, “Come To Me”, appeared again on her 1989 album, Through The Storm.


Come To Me (Willard Eugene Price) 3:44
2  Can’t Turn You Loose (Chuck Jackson) 3:56
3  United Together (Chuck Jackson) 5:04
4  Take Me With You (Chuck Jackson) 4:05
5  Whatever It Is (Eddie Setser, Jerry Michael, Mark Gray) 3:41
What A Fool Believes (Kenny Loggins, Michael McDonald) 5:14
7  Together Again (Aretha Franklin, Chuck Jackson) 5:17
8  Love Me Forever (Kenny Moore, Patrick Henderson) 3:36
9  School Days (Chuck Jackson) 4:58


1 Come To Me

Bass Louis Johnson
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Keyboards David Foster
Keyboards David Paich
Percussion George Devens

2 Can’t Turn You Loose

Bass Louis Johnson
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar Steve Lukather
Keyboards Bob Christianson
Keyboards David Foster
Keyboards Steve Porcaro

6 What A Fool Believes

Bass Louis Johnson
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar Steve Lukather
Guitar David Williams
Keyboards David Foster

8 Love Me Forever

Bass Mike Porcaro
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar Steve Lukather
Guitar David Williams
Keyboards David Paich
Sax David Newman

Other Musicians

Bass Randy Jackson
Bass Tony Coleman
Bass Frankie Centano
Bass Scott Edwards
Drums Yogi Horton
Drums Ed Greene
Drums James Gadson
Drums Tony Coleman
Guitar Steve Lukather
Guitar Paul Jackson
Guitar Vernon Black
Guitar Cornell Dupree
Keyboards Walter Afanasieff
Keyboards Preston Glass
Keyboards Tony Coleman
Synthesizer Bob Christianson
Synthesizer Todd Cochrane
Piano David Foster
Sax Michael Brecker
Sax Louis del Gatto
Sax Kenny G.
Horn Jon Clark French
Horn Peter Gordon
Trumpet Randy Brecker
Trumpet Jerry Hey
Percussion George Devens
Percussion Greg Gonaway
Percussion Darryl Jackson
Background Vocals Kitty Beethoven
Background Vocals Brenda Corbett
Background Vocals Kevin Dorsey
Background Vocals Jim Gilstrap
Background Vocals Larry Graham
Background Vocals Jennifer Hall
Background Vocals Cissy Houston
Background Vocals Charles Jackson
Background Vocals Liz Jackson
Background Vocals Ortheia Barnes

Horns and Strings

trings, Concertmaster – Alan Shulman, Alfred Brown, Fred Zlotkin, Frederick Buldrini, Gene Orloff, Gerald Tarack, Harold Kohon, Harry Lookofsky, Joe Malin, Jonathan Abramowiz, Julien Barber, Mark Wayne-Wright, Mitsue Takayama, Peter Dimitriades (Track 8)
Tenor Saxophone – Michael Brecker, Seldon Powell (Track 8)
Trombone – Barry Rogers (Track 8)
Trumpet – Randy Brecker (Track 8)
Trumpet (Lead) – Lew Soloff (Track 8)

Liner Notes

Producer – Arif Mardin (Tracks 1, 2, 6)
Producer –Chuck Jackson (Tracks 3, 4, 5, 7, 9)
Co-producer – Aretha Franklin (Track 9)
Arranged By – Aretha Franklin (Tracks 7,9)
Engineer (Additional) – Lew Hahn
Engineer (Assistant) – Michael O’Reilly, Stewart Whitmore
Mixed By – Reginald Dozier (Tracks 3, 4, 5, 7, 9)
Remix – Arif Mardin, Gene Paul, Lew Hahn, Michael O’Reilly (Track 8)
Remix (Assistant) – Joe Mardin (Track 8)
Remix, Producer, Arranged By – Arif Mardin (Track 8)

Art Direction, Design – Ria Lewerke-Shapiro

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Arista Records, Inc.
Manufactured By – Arista Records, Inc.
Recorded At – Record Plant, N.Y.C.
Recorded At – MCA Whitney Recording Studios
Mixed At – MCA Whitney Recording Studios
Recorded At – Sound Labs, Hollywood
Recorded At – Atlantic Studios
Edited At – Cherokee Studios
Mixed At – Cherokee Studios
Mastered At – Sterling Sound