1979 Brooklyn Dreams – Joy Ride

Brooklyn Dreams 1979 1Joy Ride is the third album by Brooklyn Dreams, released in 1979 on Casablanca.

The Brooklyn Dreams was a successful singing group of the late 1970s and early 1980s mixing R&B harmonies with contemporary dance/disco music and best known for a number of collaborations with singer Donna Summer. The band consisted of Joe “Bean” Esposito, Eddie Hokenson and Bruce Sudano. Esposito provided lead vocals for the band and played guitar, while Sudano played keyboards and Hokenson played drums and occasionally sang lead vocals.

Their third album Joy Ride (1979) was a solid effort but moved them farther away from their R&B roots. Produced by Summer’s recording engineer Juergen Koppers, but did not have the support of Casablanca, which was having a financial crisis, the album did not generate a chart single and had a much more Euro dance sound. Casabalanca (which distributed the band’s label, Millennium) had changed direction by 1980 with the demise of Disco with which it was closely related, and chairman Neil Bogart’s departure. Summer also departed the label for the new Geffen Records.


1  Hot Lovin (Summer In The City) (Bob Incorvaia, Bruce Sudano, Eddie Hokenson, Joe Esposito) 5:15
2  For The Love Of The Music (Bruce Sudano, Eddie Hokenson, Joe Esposito) 5:02
3  Too Much For The Lady (Bob Incorvaia, Bruce Sudano, Eddie Hokenson, Joe Esposito) 4:39
4  Take Me Back (Bruce Sudano) 3:55
5  Your Love’s So Good To Me (Bruce Sudano, Donna Summer) 4:44
6  One And Only (Mindy Sterling, Snuffy Walden) 4:02
7  Daigo (Bruce Sudano, Donna Summer, Eddie Hokenson, Joe Esposito) 4:02
8  Love Love’s Desire (Susan Munao, Bruce Sudano, Eddie Hokenson, Joe Esposito) 4:42


BassLes Hurdle
DrumsKeith Forsey
Guitar (solo)Jeff Baxter
Guitar (solo)Steve Lukather
GuitarJay Graydon
GuitarThom Rotella
GuitarMats Bjorklund
GuitarNick Woodland
Pedal Steel GuitarAl Perkins
KeyboardsThor Baldursson
SynthesizerThor Baldursson
SynthesizerRick Kelly
SaxGary Herbig
PercussionBob Conti
PercussionKeith Forsey
VocalsBruce Sudano
VocalsEddie Hokenson
VocalsJoe Esposito

Other Musicians

3 Too Much For The Lady

VocalsDonna Summer


Liner Notes

Producer – Jürgen Koppers
Arranged By – Thor Baldursson
Contractor – Trevor Veitch
Engineer – Jürgen Koppers
Mastered By – Brian Gardner
Mixed By – Jürgen Koppers

Artwork – Gribbitt!
Photography – Mailloux & Jaeger

Mastered At Allen Zentz Mastering, Los Angeles
Mixed At Rusk Sound Studios, Los Angeles
Recorded At Musicland and Arco Studios, Munich
Recorded At Westlake Audio and Rusk Sound Studios, Los Angeles
℗ 1979 Casablanca Record and Filmworks Inc