1978 Bill Champlin – Single

Single is the debut album by Bill Champlin, released in 1978.

William Bradford “Bill” Champlin (born May 21, 1947, Oakland, California) is an American singer, guitarist, keyboard player, arranger, producer, and songwriter. His performance work is principally associated with the bands Chicago and the Sons of Champlin.He has won multiple Grammy Awards for songwriting.David Foster produced two solo albums for Bill Champlin: Single (1978) and Runaway (1981). Both albums sold poorly due to poor promotion by his record company, although the latter album did include a pair of minor hits on the Billboard Hot 100 (Sara and “Tonight, Tonight”). In the 1990s, Bill Champlin released five more solo albums: No Wasted Moments, Burn Down the Night, Through It All, He Started to Sing, and Mayday. The last was a live recording of songs from his career, and included musicians Greg Mathieson, Jerry Lopez, Eddie Garcia, Tom Saviano, and Rochon Westmoreland.


1 What Good Is Love (Harry Garfield, Jay Graydon) 3:32
2 I Don’t Want You Anymore (Bill Champlin, David Foster) 3:52
3 We Both Tried (Bill Champlin, David Foster) 4:53
4 Yo’ Mama (Bill Champlin) 3:58
5 Fly With Me (Bill Champlin) 3:57
6 Love Is Forever (Bill Champlin) 3:43
7 Careless (BJ Cook Foster, Bill Champlin) 3:38
8 Elayne (Bill Champlin, Ed Whiting) 3:12
9 Keys To The Kingdom (Bill Champlin, David Foster) 4:58


Bass David Hungate
Bass David Shields
Drums Duris Maxwell
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Drums Larry Tolbert
Guitar Jay Graydon
Guitar Steve Lukather
Guitar Ray Parker Jr
Horn George Bohannon
Horn Oscar Brashear
Horn Gary Grant
Horn Jerry Hey
Horn Larry Williams
Keyboards David Foster
Keyboards David Paich
Keyboards Steve Porcaro
Percussion Paulinho Da Costa
Strings Marty Paich
Background Vocals Bill Champlin
Background Vocals Netty Gloud
Background Vocals Daryl Hall
Background Vocals Bobby Kimball
Background Vocals Michael McDonald
Background Vocals Carmen Twillie

Liner Notes

Producer – David Foster
Arranged By – Bill Champlin, David Foster
Arranged By (Horn) – Jerry Hey
Concertmaster – Harry Bluestone
Conductor (Strings) – Marty Paich
Contractor – Frank DeCaro Orchestra

Mastered By Bernie Grundman
Recorded At Davlen Sound Studios
Phonographic Copyright CBS Inc