1978 Alice Cooper – From The Inside

From the Inside is the 11th studio album by Alice Cooper, released in 1978. It is a concept album about Cooper’s stay in a New York sanitarium due to his alcoholism. Each of the characters in the songs were based on actual people Cooper met in the sanitarium. With this album, he saw the addition of three former members of the Elton John band: lyricist Bernie Taupin, guitarist Davey Johnstone and bassist Dee Murray.The lead single from the album was “How You Gonna See Me Now”, an early example of a power ballad, which reached #12 in the US’ Hot 100 chart. A music video was also created for it.

The album is also notable for having been used to form the characters and storyline when Alice Cooper was featured in a comicbook, Marvel Premier #50.

The album’s cover image features the opening manner of doors leading into a hospital waiting room. The doors feature Cooper’s face.


1  From The Inside (Alice Cooper, Dick Wagner, David Foster, Bernie Taupin) 3:55
2  Wish I Were Born In Beverly .. (Alice Cooper, Dick Wagner, Bernie Taupin) 3:38
3  The Quiet Room (Alice Cooper, Dick Wagner, Bernie Taupin) 3:52
4  Nurse Rozetta (Alice Cooper, Steve Lukather, Dick Wagner, Bernie Taupin) 4:15
5  Millie And Billie (Alice Cooper, Bruce Roberts, Bernie Taupin) 4:15
6  Serious (Alice Cooper, Bernie Taupin, David Foster, Steve Lukather) 2:45
How You Gonna See Me Now (Alice Cooper, Dick Wagner, Bernie Taupin) 3:58
8  For Veronica’s Sake (Alice Cooper, Dick Wagner, Bernie Taupin) 3:37
9  Jackknife Johnny (Alice Cooper, Dick Wagner, Bernie Taupin) 3:45
10  Inmates (We’re All Crazy) (Alice Cooper, Dick Wagner, Bernie Taupin) 5:03


Bass David Hungate
Bass Dee Murray
Bass John Pierce
Bass Kenny Passarelli
Drums Jim Keltner
Guitar Steve Lukather
Guitar Jay Graydon
Guitar Davey Johnstone
Guitar Dee Murray
Guitar Rick Nielsen
Guitar Dick Wagner
Vocals Alice Cooper
Keyboards David Foster
Keyboards Jay Graydon
Background Vocals Howard Kaylan
Background Vocals Mark Volman

Liner Notes

Producer – David Foster
Producer (Executive) – Shep Gordon
Engineer – David De Vore, Howard Steele, Humberto Gatica, Keith Olsen, Tom Knox
Engineer (Second_ – Chris Desmond, Dana Latham, Cheech D’Amico, Geoff Sykes, Ron Garrett
Mixed By – David Davore, Andy Humberto Gatica, Keith Olsen

Design Concept – Pacific Eye & Ear
Photography By – Alan Dockery
Photography By (Front Sleeve) – Lauren Linde

Pressed By – Capitol Records Pressing Plant, Los Angeles
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Recorded At – Davlen Sound Studios
Recorded At – Cherokee Studios
Recorded At – Hollywood Sound Recorders
Recorded At – Kendun Recorders
Recorded At – Studio 55, Los Angeles
Mixed At – Sound City Studios
Mixed At – Sunset Sound
Mixed At – Crystal Sound
Mastered At – Kendun Recorders
Mastered At – Capitol Mastering